Aviator Statue



About UBE

UBE Logo

The UBE was established in the Fall of 2003 to further the aims of student self-governance within a community of trust and honor and to supervise all University-wide student elections. These include elections for organizations such as Student Council, the Honor Committee, the University Judiciary Committee, and School Councils. The UBE is responsible for setting the semesterly elections calendar and for maintaining the ballot of the University’s on-line voting system. Membership in the UBE is open to all students and is obtained through an application process each year. If you require further information about the University Board of Elections and cannot find it on our website, please contact us.

Fall 2021 New Student Elections Results

First Year Council President: Christopher Joseph

First Year Council Vice-President: James Edwards

Student Council First Year Representatives: Katie Cruz, Andreas Masiakos, Princess Wuraola Olubuse-Omisor

Student Council Transfer Representative: Spogmai Anwar

Student Council Undergraduate International Student Representative: Hongjia Yang

The full 2021 New Student Election Results can be accessed here.


JAN 17 - Eligibility Quiz Now Open & Upcoming Information Sessions 

The eligibility quiz for the Spring 2022 election cycle is now open and can be found here. Additionally, UBE will be hosting three info sessions for candidates on Jan 19th, Jan 23rd, and Jan 30th. All sessions will be at 7:00 PM and locations can be found on this webpage. Candidates must complete either the eligibility quiz or attend an info session in order to register their candidacy. 

DEC 28 - Spring 2022 Elections Calendar Released

The University Board of Elections has recently approved its calendar for the upcoming Spring elections. Interested parties can view the calendar at this link.

MAR 25 - Join the University Board of Elections!

If you are interested in managing elections for UVA's 20,000+ student population or want to further the tradition of student self-governance, consider joining the University Board of Elections for the 2021-2022 school year. More information can be found here.

MAR 19 - Spring 2021 Election Results Released

Thank you to the more than 10,000 UVA students that voted in the Spring 2021 Elections. You can find the results of the elections and a statistical breakdown of the votes here or under "Spring 2021 Election Results" in the navigation bar.

MAR 19 - Election Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to the 36 Election Prize Winners! Each winner's name was randomly selected from the pool of students who completed the entire Spring 2021 ballot. The full list of winners can be viewed here.

MAR 15 - Student Council Presidential Debate at 6 pm EDT

A discussion between Abel Liu and Gavin Oxley, this year's candidates for Student Council president at the University of Virginia. Hosted by The Cavalier Daily, the University Board of Elections, and the Democracy Initiative Student Advisory Council.

The event will be a virtual meeting live-streamed to The Cavalier Daily's Facebook page.

MAR 11 - Spring 2021 Candidate Endorsements

Check out the Spring 2021 Candidates Endorsements Guide, which lists the endorsements of candidates from CIOs such as BSA, CavDaily, LSA, and more!

2021 Endorsement Guide

MAR 9 - Election Prizes Announced!

This year has been hard on UVA students and the Charlottesville community. To help give back, everyone who completes every section of the ballot will have a chance to win over $1000 in prizes.

Read the full rules and disclaimers

OCT 7 - New Student Election Results!

Congrats to everyone that ran in the New Student Elections! You can find the results of the election for all 4 races at the link here.


UBE In the News